What are Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)?

What are Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)?

What are Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)?

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) documents explain how to make Web content accessible to people with disabilities.

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) is developed through the W3C process in cooperation with individuals and organizations around the world, with a goal of proving a single shared standard for web content accessibility that meets the needs of individuals, organizations, and governments internationally.

WCAG 2.0 has 12 guidelines that are organized under 4 principles: perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust.

For each guideline, there are testable success criteria, which are at three levels: A, AA, and AAA.

4 Principles of WCAG 2.0


  • Provide text alternatives for non-text content.
  • Provide captions and other alternatives for multimedia.
  • Create content that can be presented in different ways, including by assistive technologies, without losing meaning.
  • Make it easier for users to see and hear content.


  • Make all functionality available from a keyboard.
  • Give users enough time to read and use content.
  • Do not use content that causes seizures.
  • Help users navigate and find content.


  • Make text readable and understandable.
  • Make content appear and operate in predictable ways.
  • Help users avoid and correct mistakes.


  • Maximize compatibility with current and future user tools.

3 levels of conformance with WCAG 2.0: A, AA, and AAA

Level A :  A Web content developer must satisfy this checkpoint.

Level AA : A Web content developer should satisfy this checkpoint.

Level AAA : A Web content developer may address this checkpoint.  

It does include guidance on color contrast and error identification.


About Sonika Thakur

One Comment

Leave a Reply